reviews, infos, tips, know-how – in-depth, authentic!!

PAI – Amazfit – Personal Activity Intelligence

GPS smartwatches from Amazfit – for example the popular GTS 2 – come with an interesting health function: the PAI.

PAI is the abbreviation for "Personal Activity Intelligence". Amazfit users know this value: The watch shows for example a PAI of 95, the Zepp app also has detailed statistics and helpful information.

What does PAI mean?

First of all, it is good to know that the PAI algorithm is not an invention of Amazfit, but originates from a research area of the Norwegian University of Science and Technology (NTNU).

The PAI is based on heart rate measurements . That is why continuous 24/7 heart rate measurement is important – a function that almost all fitness smartwatches now offer, including the Amazfit sports watches.

By increasing the heart rate there are PAI points. The higher the heart rate, the faster the value increases.

To achieve this, you can run, hike, ride a bike, swim, … the decisive factor is how high your heart rate is during an activity. According to NTNU, doing two one-hour activities in a week may be enough to get a score of 100.

The PAI adapts over time. In the beginning, for example, short walks are sufficient, but with increased fitness, more effort is required to reach a value of 100.

Why 100?

Research by the NTNU shows that individuals, on average live eight years longer if they achieve a PAI of 100 or above every week for an extended period of time!

Your risk for Cardiovascular diseases is less. A PAI of 100 is said to be optimal for smokers, overweight people and people with high blood pressure or type 2 diabetes. Even a weekly PAI of 50 is said to have positive health effects.

Source for the background information : NTNU (with links to numerous scientific articles)

PAI statistics in the Amazfit Zepp appPin
PAI statistics in the Amazfit Zepp app

To come back to the Amazfit Smartwatches: In my opinion, the PAI is a helpful and easy to understand value that helps to stay healthy and fit even without a lot of background knowledge!

However, it is important to be careful! An essential basis of the PAI is the most accurate possible heart rate measurements. You should therefore regularly install new software updates via the Zepp app, tighten the bracelet as tightly as possible (but not too tight!) and fasten the watch approx. 1 to 2 cm higher than usual (i.e. a little above the wrist bones).

Note: The articles may contain affiliate links. If you buy through these links I will receive a commission; thus you support the continuation of this website. There are no additional costs for you. It is up to you where and when you buy a product. I do not receive any information about the buyer.

Leave a Comment

Tests, Infos, Tipps, Know-how – ausführlich, praxisorientiert, authentisch!

PAI – Amazfit – Personal Activity Intelligence

GPS-Smartwatches von Amazfit – beispielsweise die beliebte GTS 2 – kommen mit einer interessanten Gesundheitsfunktion: dem PAI.

PAI ist die Abkürzung für "Personal Activity Intelligence", auf deutsch einer "Persönlichen Aktivitätsintelligenz". Amazfit Nutzer kennen diesen Wert: Da ist auf der Uhr etwa ein PAI von 95 zu sehen, in der korrespondierenden Zepp App gibt’s zudem ausführliche Statistiken und hilfreiche Infos.

Was bedeutet PAI?

Zunächst einmal ist es gut zu wissen, dass der PAI Algorithmus keine Erfindung von Amazfit ist, sondern von einem Forschungsbereich der norwegischen Universität für Wissenschaft und Technik – kurz NTNU – stammt (NTNU = Norwegian University of Science and Technology).

Der PAI beruht auf Messungen der Herzfrequenz. Deshalb ist ein kontinuierliches 24/7 Messen der Herzfrequenz wichtig – eine Funktion, die mittlerweile nahezu alle Fitness-Smartwatches bieten, inklusive der Amazfit Sportuhren.

Durch ein Erhöhen der Herzfrequenz gibt es PAI-Punkte. Je höher die Herzfrequenz, desto schneller steigt der Wert.

Um dies zu erreichen können Sie Laufen, Wandern, Fahrradfahren, Schwimmen, … entscheidend ist, wie hoch die Herzfrequenz während einer Aktivität ist. Laut NTNU kann es ausreichen, in einer Woche zwei Aktivitäten von je einer Stunde durchzuführen, um einen Score von 100 zu erreichen.

Der PAI passt sich mit der Zeit an. Anfangs genügen z.B. kurze Spaziergänge, bei gesteigerter Fitness ist dagegen mehr Einsatz nötig um auf einen Wert von 100 zu kommen.

Warum 100?

Forschungen der NTNU zeigen, dass Personen im Durchschnitt acht Jahre länger leben, wenn sie über einen längeren Zeitraum jede Woche einen PAI von 100 oder darüber erreichen!

Ihr Risiko für Herz-Kreislauf-Erkrankungen ist geringer. Ein PAI von 100 soll für Raucher, übergewichtige Personen und Personen mit Bluthochdruck oder Typ-2-Diabetes optimal sein. Selbst ein wöchentlicher PAI von 50 soll positive Auswirkungen auf die Gesundheit haben.

Quelle für die Hintergrundinfos: NTNU (mit Links zu zahlreichen wissenschaftlichen Artikeln)

PAI Statistiken in der Amazfit Zepp App
PAI Statistiken in der Amazfit Zepp App

Um zu den Amazfit Smartwatches zurückzukommen: Meines Erachtens ist der PAI ein hilfreicher und einfach zu überschauender Wert, der auch viel Hintergrundwissen hilft gesund und fit zu bleiben!

Hinweis: Die Artikel können Affiliate-Links enthalten. Wenn Sie über diese Links einkaufen erhalte ich eine Provision; somit unterstützen Sie die Weiterführung dieser Webseite. Für Sie entstehen keine Mehrkosten. Ich bekomme keine Infos über den Käufer.

Schreibe einen Kommentar

Der GPS Newsletter!

Ich akzeptiere die Nutzungsbedingungen

Navigation-Professionell